top of page

Riding the Waves in Venezuela

I am starting my blog in October of 2015, but am back-dating many posts to reflect the date of the actual event. I have a sporadic collection of photos and thoughts that I want to collect and highlight in one place, while I hope to update this blog on a regular basis.

After a new staff orientation to my new school, Colegio Internacional Puerto La Cruz, we are welcomed with a day of swimming and beach-bumming on what is termed the "meat boat" because of the copious amount of barbeque.

I learned the benefits of Dramamine the contents of my stomach decided to join the seawater on the way to our first destination. My fiancee caught me just after the act.

Here are some thoughts of my shift from HS IB Biology at the American School of Tegucigalpa to teaching MS Math, MS Health, MS Science [with one HS Biology class].

There is much unknown ahead of me as I haven't met my students yet. What is their prior knowledge? Their level of skill? What is the general classroom behavior? All I have is a warning from a parent that I need to keep an eye out.

Say the words, "Middle school" and images of general awkwardness, raging hormones, and fickle social relationships pop up in the minds of the survivors. How can I guide students through the mysteriously awkward

Before accepting the job, I listened to an episode of This American Life podcast about Middle School. The beginning speaks doom and gloom. Alex Blumberg, a teacher of MS for four years, seems entirely dejected when he says, "I don't know if they learned anything," because they are so concerned with everything else but the facts of life. Ira Glass asks, "What can be done to make Middle School better?"

The response from a 14-year-old MS survivor: "I don't think you can really do anything about it."

Luckily the podcast perks up. I recommend a listen for any MS educator.

In seeking help, a colleague offered advice: "In middle school, it is not what they learn, but how they learn." I agree...to an extent.

A primary focus in middle school should relate to fostering habits to prepare for learning.

Attitudes and Behavior - How can I teach students to be most receptive to learning?

Confidence - How can I foster confidence that effort and perserverance will allow students to tackle any problem?

These are my long-term objectives unrelated to the content of the classroom as we move through the smaller daily objectives of content and subject-related skills. The mission of CIPLC begins with, "inspiring students to develop a life-long passion for learning..." I can stand by this long-view of education.

bottom of page